No Man’s Sky – initial impressions


So I’ve had a little time with No Man’s Sky now, and have managed to muddle my way through things a bit so I thought I’d share my findings so far. This is NOT a review though… in all honesty, I don’t think I could review NMS, purely because there’s way too much information to process. Ask me again in about a month (or three), and maybe I’ll be able to review it.

Straight off the bat, if I were to say how I felt about the game in one word, I’d say “engrossing”. It’s really enjoyable and it’s very easy to get lost in what you’re doing. I played the game last night, and didn’t notice the time until it was in the early hours of the morning… so mental note for me – don’t play the game at night.

As a matter of disclosure, I’ve already played for a couple of hours, then deleted my save game and restarted – this is because of the issue with the preorder bonus ship that you can get, and the game effectively skipping the Hyperdrive Blueprints part of one of the introductory missions.

I can stop worrying now I have that Hyperdrive blueprint
I can stop worrying now I have that Hyperdrive blueprint

What’s the aim of the game? Well… before someone pipes up and says “to reach the centre of the Universe”… in my opinion the game’s overall aim can be summed up in 4 words:

  1. Explore
  2. Catalog
  3. Trade
  4. Survive

Sure, the center of the Universe thing is an “aim”… but if you’re not skipping shitloads of stuff when you’re playing, then that aim is ridiculously far off. So with that in mind, if I’m honest, I’m not even trying to get to the centre of the Universe. I’d rather just bimble around visiting planets and discovering stuff.

In my first playthrough (pre-deletion), I spent 100% of my time on my opening planet, justΒ  wandering around and finding and naming animals. I even had this weird tentacle thing just continually trying to attack me, so that ended up getting called a “Tentacled Cokwomble”, largely thanks to my best mate.

If I remember rightly, I called this a "Spiney RuPaul"... for some reason.
If I remember rightly, I called this a “Spiney RuPaul”… for some reason.

In my second playthrough, I was prettymuch focussed on sorting out the Hyperdrive, because I didn’t want to be continually thinking about if I’d screwed myself over or not. But now that’s sorted out, I can finally get back to finding new Flora and Fauna to name (and learning the Korvax language too… of which I know exactly 1 word at the moment).

Something I’ve also found is to not get too attached to the planet I started on. During my first playthrough, I was on a planet that had a fair few interesting animals, but resources were scarce. I couldn’t find any Zinc or Thamium9 (the latter you need to power your pulse drive, which helps you get off-world), and Plutonium (which is the base energy source for your ship’s engines) only spawned in small amounts underground, and was surrounded by Tentacled Cockwombles.

That... is a huge gold mountain thing. Not gold? Oh... Emeril then. Poo.
That… is a huge gold mountain thing. Not gold? Oh… Emeril then. Poo.

So if your starting planet isn’t very hospitable, or has no animals or resources, don’t be afraid about leaving – you’ll go to countless other planets in the process of the game!

Anyway – I’m enjoying NMS at the moment, and I think I’ll continue to. There’s never a dull moment, and always something to do… plus there’s no rush, so it really doesn’t matter if I don’t play it for a while.

No Man’s Sky is the perfect game for the procrastinators, or for people who can’t game a whole lot. Definitely check it out, as I think it offers something for everyone.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. My husband also had trouble with the hyper drive bit, but that really on occurred because he found a crashed ship on one of the first planets and made a switch. He found a way to fix it and we have since then moved on. Getting attacked by pirates was not a good experience for us though. Good read! Hope you continue to enjoy NMS!

    Like

    1. Jim says:

      Yeah I found a crashed ship too… Worst part there was getting to transfer the inventories over when both were full! Haven’t bumped into pirates yet, but I imagine I will soon…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t even think about transferring over inventories. Yikes. Oh man, just wait. I was playing when it happened and I am not coordinated when it comes to flying… I nearly got us killed before he came back to rescue me πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Jim says:

        Yeah I did find I flew into asteroids a lot! But at least I got Thamium for it! πŸ˜‰ My ship is kind of lame, so I don’t think it’d stand up to an attack. 😦 I’ll just have to play it safe I guess. πŸ˜‰

        Like

      3. Haha I fly into those suckers all the time. The perks of flying into space debris. Well, if you do find any pirates I hope you succeed in kicking their asses!

        Like

Leave a Reply

